Ride to Have Fun

“Come on, mom,” Brian laughed as he yanked on the leash. Molly hadn’t seen him this happy lately.

“I think Joey is in need of a rest.” She patted her horse as it slowed to a walk. “Good boy.”

Brian slowed his horse as well. “How come Joey needs to rest?”

“Well, he’s older, honey. Don’t forget, you are riding a pony.” Molly smiled. “Are you having a good time?”

“I’m having a great time, mom. We should do this more often, just you and me.” If only I could, Molly thought sadly. With her job, she’d been kept busy 24-7. In fact, it was a wonder she got the holidays off this year.

“Well, what about Antonio? Don’t you have fun with him?”

Brian shrugged. “He’s okay but he’s not the same as you. He’s always correcting me.”

“Well, he is your riding instructor.”

“But you don’t do that.”

“Well, that’s because I’m not your instructor. I just ride to have fun.”

“Then why can’t he do that too? Ride to have fun?” Good question.

(~175 words)

This story was originally published on December 27, 2016.

Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, a flash fiction challenge hosted by Priceless Joy from 2015-2019. In this prompt, we are challenged to write a piece between 100 and 150 words (more or less 25 words) using the photo prompt given.

Don't go without leaving me with something!